Fabric dying at Fiber in the Forest

Had a great Memorial Day weekend.  Cooked some yummy food and spent some time gathering my dye equipment together in preparation for a week of fabric dying.  I’m going to over dye my eco scarves with Indigo and also do some fat quarters with madder, brazilwood, weld and maybe some others.  I am going to try some thread resist and some other experiments.

On the last day of the workshop we did fabric dyeing.  First we did a tonal – I used the purple (see first two pictures) and then we used a couple of different folding techniques and three colors.  I had mixed results – I didn’t either use enough dye or didn’t squish (highly technical term) the fabric down into the dye enough.  I had a lot of white areas – which I don’t think we were supposed to have.  I did like one of my pieces – the others not so much.  However, I am interested in using the pleated technique with my indigo dying to see what I can achieve.  Here are a few of the results.  The one I like is the the one on the bottom.  The third pictures is of the cups that held our projects. We pleated and the rolled like a jelly roll, or squished the fabric into the cup, or pleated and fit in a cup without rolling.DSCF1005

DSCF1008

DSCF1002

DSCF1031 DSCF1033 DSCF1037

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabric dying at Fiber in the Forest

  1. Joan says:

    I agree! I like the colors in the third one the most.

Leave a Reply

