Fresh Indigo

I harvested my first crop of fresh Indigo last week.  I am going to use 1/2 of it for a fresh indigo vat and am drying the remaining 1/2 for later.  I ended up with 4, 1 gallon zip lock bags of fresh leaves.

Drying indigo1stharvest Evaindigo

I also did some rubbings with the fresh Indigo leaves – using John Marshalls book as a guide.   It yielded a dark bluish green color.  The first and third are stencils I put over silk squares and rubbed through with the indigo leaves.  The middle one is a silk square with the indigo leaves underneath and then I used a rubber mallet and pounded on top.

Will post more later….

rubbing2freshleafindigo Indigoleaf stencil rub with fresh indigo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Indigo

  1. Joan says:

    Interesting!

  2. mltai says:

    I love the leaf markings, especially the gingko. Love to learn more about indigo vat..care to share your recipe.

Leave a Reply

